Daily Post: Google and Rescue

Michelle W. at the Daily Prompt asks:
What was the last thing you searched for online? Why were you looking for it?

While this is not the last thing I was searching for (that would be the time of my next Weight Watchers meeting), it is a search and rescue moment that has changed how I live and play online.

I went windows free in June of 2013. Go me!  I have been dabbling in Linux for years, but a series of bad computer days in Windows and a chance article on Linux that came up in my Google search for information on my Windows problem made me sit up and reconsider fixing my Windows installation.  In this article the author said something to the extent of ‘the hardest part of the learning curve is committing’.  Yes it is.  All of my friends and family know I’m not keen on the new Windows 8.  So I committed, backed up and installed Linux.

I went with a single boot Linux OS install for 6 weeks while I was getting familiar with a new OS.  I did have to re-install a couple of times and learned how to back up files with those mistakes 🙂  Things did settle down and I was to a point where I was ready to put the Windows OS I use on as a dual boot.  I do game and this is still a rocky area for Linux.  Gaming IS better than it was but, it still has a ways to go.  I use my Windows install only for games.

I am now a very happy Linux user.  I do just about everything I did before just fine.  The leaning curve is still there but its so small you might just miss it if you aren’t looking.

NaBloPoMo  November 2013

NaBloPoMo 2013

11 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompt, NaBloPoMo, Random

11 responses to “Daily Post: Google and Rescue

  1. Pingback: DIY Birthday Party | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Rusty | Danny James

  3. Pingback: Google Tells Me 5 Ways To Kill A Man | dark circles, etc

  4. Pingback: Google and Rescue Operation | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: 42 | Historiefortelling

  6. Pingback: Googling… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  7. Pingback: Knit’s just the beginning . . . | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Google and Rescue Operation | My Kaleidoscope

  9. Pingback: A FEW THINGS | hastywords

  10. Pingback: Daily prompt: Google and Rescue Operation | Wordz on a Page

  11. Pingback: of narcissism | Anawnimiss

I'd love to know what you think? Talk to me.

