Bean Soup

When I posted about my new little slow cooker yesterday, I never expected the response I got. Coline over at Coline’s Blog (go visit her, I’ll wait) asked if I could share some recipes for using a slow cooker.  I would be happy to do that.  I had been thinking about posting some recipes, so the request goes along way towards pushing me in that direction.

I have no ‘formal’ recipe for my bean soup, it really is a free for all kind of meal.  I will try to present it here as a basic structure that can be changed around when different ingredients are available.

Slow-Cooker Easy Bean Soup

Prep Time: 10-20 min
Total Time: 4-6 hours
Servings: 1-3

Ingredients

  • 1 can (14 oz) vegetable broth
  • 1/2 can (7 oz) of Black Beans, rinsed
  • 1/2 can (7 oz) of Great Northern Beans, rinsed
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp Herbes de Provence
  • pinch of pepper (to taste)

Directions

In 1-2 qt. slow cooker, mix all ingredients and add broth to just covering beans. If you want more ‘soup’ add more broth. Cover; cook on Low heat 4-6 hours. You may need to adjust this time based on your cooker and choice of beans.

Tips & Variations

  1. Something I love about bean dishes is that there is a lot of variation that you can try.  I used Black & Great Northern in the list above as they both hold up well and compliment one another in flavor and visually (light & dark).  You can use any one or more beans of your choice. Experiment.
  2. If you have a larger slow-cooker, this dish can be doubled/tripled as necessary. The more you do it, the more you will get a feel for it. Check in on your soup till you find tender level of your beans you like and note the time it took.
  3. Chicken broth with chicken thighs/thigh meat for additional flavor.
  4. Add seared stewing meat (beef or veal) for a hearty meat dish.
  5. Any combination of onion, celery, carrots or potatoes adds depth of flavor.
  6. I love to use pintos, cannellini, kidney, and black eyed peas as well in place of great northern.
2 Comments

Filed under GF Cooking, Recipes

2 responses to “Bean Soup

  1. I have never heard of northern beans – not too sure what they are. I will have a look in the supermarket.
    Thanks for posting the recipe – now to go bean shopping 🙂

I'd love to know what you think? Talk to me.

