MIA

Today is one of those days that I feel like I am missing in action, I haven’t posted in couple of days. However I have been fighting with what at first appeared to be a failing hard drive that has turned out to be, luckily for me, a moderately bad hard drive crash. This is also an external drive so I’m not looking at any OS problems on top of that.

I’m told that recovering data from mechanical failures in hard drives is a lot harder than recovering data from crashes. I hope that as this was a crash that I will be able to recover most the data on that partition.

So, for the last couple of days I have been fighting with my hard drive to get the information off of it and somewhere else. Yes people back it up, back it up, back it up! I cannot agree with that sentiment more. While I was partially backed up I wasn’t fully.

I am one of the lucky ones however as it looks like I will be able to recover about 95 percent of the most important stuff. If I lose the rest, I’ll live.

It has been an interesting experience to be sure.  I use Linux as my main OS, but I have a Windows 7 installation for a few games I have not got running in Linux well yet.  I found that there were files that would move to a different drive just fine and others would not move, but they would copy.  Some would not even do that but, if I booted to the other OS I could do some thing I could not do before.  It makes for a confusing process, but if I can get my stuff I’ll do it. 🙂

I am around and I’ll try to post when I can, but this has my full attention right now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

I'd love to know what you think? Talk to me.

