Simple image editing can be the difference between night and day.

I have been working with some simple image editing on the photos I take with my cell phone.  It is an amazing thing to how different and, in most cases, more balanced an image will look with just a few minor tweaks. I’m using Gimp as my editor as it is the most like Photoshop that I have found and its free.

Take this pic I took of the Editor for example.  I was standing below the deck about 8″ from her and in bright light.  The picture however looks washed out and grainy.

Image with setting dialog open

Light level settings are default.

As you can see in the light levels dialog box above there is little or no light input level present. So I gave it a bit of a tweak here by pulling both the light and dark ends in towards the middle. Not a lot, as a little goes along way.

Editor on Deck

Wow, what a difference! The color just pops. You can even see reflections and brown flecks in the Editors eyes more clearly.

Kitty licking her lip

Ok, That was tasty….

This photo was taken at the same time, but I did not get the levels that way I wanted and you can see where it is a bit darker. Both the images were sharpened a bit as well. Those are the only to things I did and they look pretty good for a cell phone photo.

I see some amazing photos around here on the blogs I read and I have to ask, what do you like to do to your photos before posting them? How much or how little do you edit? I look forward to reading your comments and posts.

2 Comments

Filed under Animals, Images, NaBloPoMo

2 responses to “Simple image editing can be the difference between night and day.

  1. I like what you did with the photo – it certainly brought out the cat’s features more.

I'd love to know what you think? Talk to me.

